How to Cancel a Project

There may be times when you need to cancel a project. Your requirements may have changed, you no longer wish to work with your selected freelancer, or you may have an entirely different reason. Whatever the reason is, take note that you can cancel a project only if there is no payment made on it.

 

To cancel a project, go to your project's page. For a fixed-price project, click the End Project button at the right side of the Management tab. 

 

For an hourly project, click the End Billing button beside the awarded freelancer's thumbnail picture.

 

A popup will appear asking you for the terms on how the project will be closed. Two options will be given: the first option is for cancelling the project, and the second option is for marking it as incomplete. Choose the first option "My requirements have changed and I no longer require this work to be done" and click Submit.

 

 

Note: You cannot cancel a project if it has a pending Milestone Payment.  If you try to cancel it, you will be redirected to the project page instead. You can either release the pending Milestone Payment or ask your freelancer to cancel it. If you release the Milestone Payment, the project can no longer be cancelled but can only be either marked as complete or incomplete.

If your freelancer refuses to cancel the Milestone Payment, however, you have the option to file a dispute through our Dispute Resolution Service.

If a project is cancelled within seven (7) days after the project's acceptance, you can receive a full refund of your project fee as the employer. If the time frame has passed, however, the project fee will no longer be refundable. 

 

Was this article helpful?